Ontario

Cover crops are used by many farmers across Ontario. From the traditional red clover underseeding in winter wheat to late summer oats for feed and cover crops for soil building and erosion control, there is a cover crop approach to fit every production system. Interest and experimentation in cover crops is increasing. Crop Advances reports on projects funded by the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association while Field Crop News features new research and on farm project findings. There is ongoing research aimed at answering the pressing cover crop questions.

Innovations in Cover Crops – Cover Crops Decision Tool 
Please scroll down to read extension publications from Ontario.

 

Various agencies provide cover crop services at a local level. These resources can help with technical support and answer questions from a local perspective at no cost.

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) Cover Crop Page
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) Choosing a Cover Crop
Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement
Innovative Farmers Association of Ontario
Conservation Ontario

Find your Local Conservation Authority

Conservation Authorities with Cover Crop Involvement

Feel free to contact your MCCC state representative for local questions and recommendations. Your MCCC state representative's contact information can be found on the State Contacts tab.

MCCC State Contact

Anne Verhallen
Soil Management Specialist (Hort.)
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
P.O. Box 400
Ridgetown, Ontario
N0M 2C0
Phone: 519-674-1614
E-mail: anne.verhallen@ontario.ca

Other Contacts

Christine Brown
Field Crops Sustainability Specialist , Woodstock
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Unit A, 401 Lakeview Drive N4T 1W2
Phone: 519-537-8305
E-mail: christine.brown1@ontario.ca

 

Adam Hayes
Soil Management Specialist-Field Crops, Ridgetown
University of Guelph, Ridgetown Campus, Agronomy Building
PO Box 400, 120 Main Street East N0P 2C0
Telephone: 519-674-1621
Email: adam.hayes@ontario.ca

 

Laura L. Van Eerd  Ph.D., P.Ag.
Assistant Professor, Nitrogen Fertility and Cover Crops
School of Environmental Sciences
University of Guelph Ridgetown Campus
Ridgetown, ON  N0P 2C0
Phone: (519) 674-1500 x63644
E-mail: lvaneerd@uoguelph.ca
Web: www.ridgetownc.on.ca/

 

Bill Deen
Associate Professor, Cropping Systems
Plant Agriculture Department
University of Guelph
(519)824-4120 x53397
bdeen@uoguelph.ca

 

Darren Robinson
Weed Management - Horticulture
University of Guelph Ridgetown Campus
120 Main Street East
Ridgetown, Ontario
N0P 2C0
Ph: (519) 674-1500 x63604
Email: darrenr@uoguelph.ca

 

Thomas Ferguson
Forage and Grazier Specialist, Lindsay
322 Kent Street West, K9V 4T7
Telephone: 705-324-5855
Email: thomas.ferguson@ontario.ca

 

Jake Munroe
Soil Fertility Specialist-Field Crops, Stratford
63 Lorne Avenue East - Suite 2B N5A 6S4
Telephone: 519-271-9269
E-mail: jake.munroe@ontario.ca

 

Dave Hooker
Assistant Professor, Field Agronomist
University of Guelph Ridgetown Campus
Ridgetown, ON  N0P 2C0
Phone: (519) 674-1500 x63559
E-mail: dhooker@uoguelph.ca
Web: www.ridgetownc.on.ca/